The Communist Daily

The revolution starts here!

A Little about Me

I’ve heard it a million times. “The poor in America have video games, they have TVs and food stamps and nice houses and etc etc etc” You see, ignoring that the whole world isn’t America, that’s a lie. A really bad lie, and one that seems to be believed by so many Americans that it is really sickening. Now, when it comes to debating political ideas, I don’t really put much in the way of personal anecdotes. That goes especially for conversations about religion. However, I am going to now tell you some personal anecdotes, because I want you to see into, just a little bit, the life of someone who has experienced abject poverty in the US. I want you to understand that being poor isn’t fun, it isn’t nice, and it sure as hell isn’t a choice.

Me

I come from a strange background. I grew up with domestic violence, hunger and staunch fundamentalist Christianity. My earliest memories are of violence. Violence and hunger. I remember standing behind curtains, maybe three years old. I stood there with my sister and we dug our fingers into a jar of peanut butter. We ate, trying to sate our hunger, our malnutrition. We were caught by my mother and beaten for “stealing” from our family’s food rations. I don’t remember a time growing up where we weren’t on food stamps. Food stamps is not a good place to be. They don’t give you a thousand dollars and a ride to the grocery store. They certainly didn’t give my huge family enough to live on. My mom would use one whole chicken for a week or two, trying to make it last. Lunch consisted of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, and it wasn’t uncommon for dinner to be a baked potato. No, that’s it. A baked potato. Nothing else. Once a year we would have a luxury, our birthday. We could pick out one thing at the grocery store for our birthday dinner, and we’d buy the cheap cake in a box mix for the cake. My clothes torn, my shoes 3rd or 4th hand, sizes too big. No TV, no cable. No cell phones, we could barely pay for our electricity, let alone expensive extras. No candy, no soda. No Halloween.

The places we lived in were shit. One place in Kansas City, was a house that was about 120 years old. It was crumbling. It had old style radiators that burned you if you touched them, but were also useless at heating the shack of a house. The windows were brittle, the wood rotting. Rats in the basements and droppings in the pantry. Mold everywhere. Rats scurrying through the walls when you tried to go to sleep at night. I woke up one morning, the shitty broken window had not held against the duct tape during the night, and there I was, covered in 3-4 inches of snow. There was also the morning that I woke up with a dead rat on my lap.  My step father worked, it just wasn’t enough.  I remember going with him in the wee hours of the morning to collect aluminum cans from the bins of the rich neighborhoods, trying make ends meet. We would scrap and save, and we would fall short every time.

I wish that all you high minded libertarian types could live through what I lived through. The violence, the hunger and the embarrassment. The hopelessness and the sadness. No political speech today.

Live like that for your formative years, and then come talk to me about how great it is to be poor in America.

See you next time folks.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “A Little about Me

  1. sally hansen on said:

    Very very true. I grew up in a similar situation (crazy fundamentalist mom who would beat me, a 4 year old girl, with a leather belt and lock me in my room for hours at a time). After my parents got divorced there was no way my mom could support me and my sister on her own (sorry but minmum wage, which libertarians believe should be done away with, does NOT pay your bills), we had to live in a one bedroom apartment in my uncles complex because there was nothing else we could afford. We had to eat bread and butter or bread and mayonaise all day every day because we had no other food. Even now living with my family, one mishap can ruin a whole month. We accidentally locked the keys in our step dads car while it was running and had to call a locksmith. Since then we haven’t been able to afford any food for the past 3 weeks. I just got a babysitting job on craigslist because no one else will hire me even though I have a BA, and literally just had to ask for food as payment because I was that desperate to eat something. People think if we just deregulate everything then that will somehow magically fix things, but deregulation is what got capitalism into the crisis in the first place, and capitalists know that bailouts and austerity measures are the only way to save their personal fortunes.

  2. Robert Enders on said:

    You have my deepest sympathies. In today’s America, you and your siblings would be removed from the home by CPS.

  3. I liked it to show you I read it. I LOVE you even more. I understand why political diatribe, from both parties, is a terrible insult to you. I told you something in a message to you, not long ago Tim, and I hope you remember those words. I am a survivor of fundamentalism and poverty; I share that to you know my level of empathy in many ways is genuine.

    My heart aches for what you remember and lived. Lotsa love!

Join the debate!

